Cass Tech / Ohio State RB Mike Weber selected for 2017 Maxwell Award Watchlist

Written by
Jeff Corrion

When the Maxwell Football Club released their watchlists for the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award Watchlists today. The only former Michigan high school athlete to be on either list was Cass Tech 2015 RB Mike Weber who keyed Cass Tech's running game and 2012 state championship team.

Mike Weber exceeded 1,000 rushing yards his redshirt-freshman year in which Ohio State finished in the semi-finals of the college football playoff.

The Maxwell Award since 1937 is awarded to College football's player of the year from media, head coaches, and members of the Maxwell Football Club. Louisville's QB Lamar Jackson won the award in 2016.

The only previous Michigan high school alumni to win the award was Owosso's Brad Van Pelt in 1972 at Michigan State.

Since 2014 Mike Weber is just one of five Michigan high school graduates to receive the pre-season honor as; Cooper Rush, Jeremy Langford, Devin Gardner, and Devin Funchess are the only others.

Graduation Year
  • RB