Ex-Cass Tech QB Jayru Campbell wins the Harlon Hill Trophy (D-II's Heisman Trophy)

Written by
Jeff Corrion
Photo Credit
Kevin McDermott

FRISCO, Texas – – Ferris State junior quarterback Jayru Campbell was named the Harlon Hill Trophy winner Friday, the award goes to the top football player in the nation in Division II.

Campbell threw for 2,832 yards while completing 60.6% of his passes and 26 touchdowns, he also led the Bulldogs in rushing with 1,338 yards, 5.1 yards per carry and 20 scores, he also caught a touchdown pass.

Campbell becomes the 3rd Ferris State player to win the Harlon Hill Trophy in the last 5 years joining former quarterback Jason Vander Laan who won it in 2014 and 2015.

Campbell a Redshirt Junior out of Cass Tech won 2 state championships.

Sturgis HS / Hillsdale quarterback Chance Stewart finished 7th in the voting.

Past Michigan High School winners include:

2002 - Curt Anges - East Kentwood/Grand Valley State

2009 - Joique Bell - Benton Harbor/Wayne State

2018 - Jayru Campbell - Cass Tech/Ferris state