For Division 2 The D Zone takes a look at the State Finals history for the remaining teams

Written by
Jeff Corrion
Photo Credit
Ken Dettloff

Region 1:

Traverse City Central won 3 Class A titles in; 1977, 1985, and 1988. The Trojans lost in the inaugural Class A state final vs. Livonia Franklin 1975. 1988 was the last year that TCC reached the semi-finals.

Forest Hills Central has one runner-up appearance as they lost to Farmington Hills Harrison in the 1994 Class A state final. Forest Hills Central last appeared in the semi-finals in 1995.

Region 2:

Livonia Franklin has 1 state final appearance and they made it count by winning the inaugural Class A state title in 1975. It took 40 years later for Franklin to get back to the semi-finals as they lost in 2015 to King in Division 2.

Flushing has 3 district championships and has yet to win a Regional since the playoffs expanded to 5 games.

Region 3:

Detroit King was the first Detroit public high school to win a state championship in 2007. They are the back-to-back defending champions in Division 2. King finished as runner-ups in the last year of Class A in 1989 and as runner-ups in the first year of Class AA in 1990.

Ypsilanti Lincoln recently won the first District Championship in their schools history.

Region 4:

De La Salle won their first state in 2014 after falling to Muskegon twice in 2006 and 2008. The Pilots only other semi-final appearance was in 2009 vs. Inkster whose QB was Devin Gardner.

Oak Park has appeared in just 3 Regional finals, but legendary head coach, Greg Carter has had impressive runs at Inkster and Detroit DePorres. Carter won 5 titles at Inkster/DePorres.