Super 11 in Michigan, July Week 5 - The most recent back-to-back-to-back State Champs


It is extremely tough to win 1 state championship. It's tougher to defend a state championship when a target is on teams back for an entire season. So when a team can win 3 titles in a row or more, that deserves some more recognition. We'll review the most recent 3-time in a row or more state champions.

The Super 11 is a weekly feature done by The D Zone to highlight 11 key points throughout the week or in general related to Michigan High School Sports.

1. Saint Mary's Eaglets (2014-Present)

- OLSM is the most recent back-to-back-to-back State Champions as the D3 title game is the last of 8 state championship games on Thanksgiving weekend. The Eaglets have been in the state finals every single year since 2007 that they earned a playoff berth. Throughout the past 3 years, St. Mary's has cruised in every playoff game until they meet their final test in the finals. In 2014 and 2016, The Eaglets and the Muskegon Big Reds had epic games.

2. West Catholic Falcons (2013-Present)

- The 7th game of the 2016 finals showcased West Catholic beating Menominee for their 4th straight D5 title. In each of WC's four state title wins they beat Menominee early during the playoffs and also in the finals as well. Lansing Catholic also is a team that the Falcons beat all 4 years, ranging from district games to the state finals.

3. Muskegon Catholic Central Crusaders (2013-Present)

- MCC the past 4 years have engulfed Division 8 and have for the most part cruised their way to the top and will remain that way for a few more years. Catholic Central's toughest test came in a defensive standstill in the 2015 finals vs. Our Lady of the Lakes as MCC won 7-0.

4. Ithaca Yellowjackets (2010-2013)

- An incredible streak of 69 straight wins took place during these four years that Ithaca won Division 6 four years in a row. For the most part, all 4 final games were very interesting & close games. In 2013 Ithaca escaped Montrose by a point in a deathly cold and windy semi-final game and then in 2012 starting QB Travis Smith was injured, Logan Hessbrook came in at QB and led Ithaca for the win over Constantine.

5. Brother Rice Warriors (2011-2013)

- Al Fracassa concluded his illustrious career by winning comfortably over Muskegon in 2013, after a nail-biter in 2012. The Warriors were well tested through those 3 seasons and Division 2 on their side of the bracket was very tough at the time.

6. East Grand Rapids Pioneers (2006-2010)

- Our first year back in 2010 concluded with EGR knocking off Saint Mary's in the D3 finals for the 3rd time in 4 years. In 2007 and 2009 the two had 2 great games that East Grand Rapids won by the scores of 24-21 and 46-39 which was a 5 overtime game.

7. Detroit Catholic Central Shamrocks (2001-2003)

- The Shamrocks are the only team to ever win 3 straight state titles in Division 1. CC knocked out Eisenhower in 2001 and 2003 and East Kentwood in 2002. CC's 2003 team scored 485 points which are a school record.

8. Harrison Hawks (1997-2001)

- Farmington Hills Harrison from this time period is considered the "measuring stick," as Harrison was absolutely loaded in this frame. Harrison is the most recent team to win titles in different divisions. In 1997 and 1998 they won the Class A title's which is essentially Division 2 now. In 1999 MHSAA went to its current Division 1 and 8 format and there Harrison won the next three Division 3 titles.

9. DePorres Eagles (1981-1984)

- The now closed Detroit DePorres won 4 straight titles, 3 were in Class C and 1 was in Class D. In those years the MHSAA had 4 state championships. It wasn't until 1990 that the MHSAA added 4 more state title classifications. DePorres cruised in their final wins over; Forest Park, Rogers City, South Christian, and Saint Francis. In 1983 DePorres beat St. Francis in the finals and beat them again in a 1984 week 2 game.

No other teams since 1975 were able to win 3 titles in a row. This doesn't include prior mythical state champions.