Pewamo-Westphalia ends Jackson Lumen Christi’s 35 game win streak in division 7 state final

Written by
Zackary R. Boyer
Photo Credit
Zackary R. Boyer

In 13 games this season, Pewamo-Westphalia had shut out eight opponent and that storyline continued for Pewamo-Westphalia in the division 7 state finals.

The Pirates would shut out Jackson Lumen Christi, 14-0 for the victory ending the Titans 35 game win streak. The streak was the longest since Ithaca won 69 games in a row.

“I can’t say enough about our defense,” Pewamo-Westphalia head coach Jeremy Miller said. “We started the season with the exact same score against division 8 state champion Reading.”

Pewamo-Westphalia held strong on defense only allowing 109 yards defensively. The Pirates were led by John Martin who recorded 11 tackles, 1.5 sacks and 2.5 tackles for loss.

“Every inch counts,” Martin said. “Every little push matters.”

The Pirate defense forced two turnovers and were exceptional on special teams. The Pirates had 103 punt return yards and two of the returns almost went for touchdowns.

“Some schools take the approach to play kids who usually don’t get to play,” Miller said. “Not us, we see it as an opportunity.”

Both teams struggled on offense, but when Pewamo-Westphalia saw an opportunity they capitalized on it.

After an interception by Aaron Bearss, quarterback Ethan Thelen found Bearss, who made a leaping grab for a 27-yard touchdown score with three seconds left in the first half.

“On the interception I was just sitting in the my zone and read the quarterbacks eyes,” Bearss said. “Third time the ball was thrown my way, I just had to go get it.”

Bearss would finish the game with two receptions for 36 yards and the touchdown. Thelen finished the game 5-12 with the touchdown and interception.

The other Pewamo-Westphalia touchdown came on 16-yard touchdown run by Carter Thelen to ice the game with 2:16 remaining in the fourth quarter. Wirth finished the game with 63 yards on 23 carries and the touchdown.

Pewamo-Westphalia has now won three titles in the last four seasons.