For Division 4 The D Zone takes a look at the State Finals history for the remaining teams

Written by
Jeff Corrion
Photo Credit
Ken Dettloff

Region 1:

Once upon a time the Division 4 program Escanaba had enrollment for the highest's classification as they won the Class A title in 1981 and were the runner-ups in 1979. Escanaba also won "mythical" titles which were voted on by media in 1904 and 1907.

Williamston appeared in 1 title in 2010, falling to Bronson Hill a RB and his GRCC squad in the Division 4 title game.

Region 2:

Grand Rapids Catholic Central has won 3 state finals in the playoffs and 4 mythical titals. GRCC state title wins came in 1943, 1949, 1951, 1959, 1987, 2010, and 2016.

Belding had a nice run of 2 state championships and 2 runner-ups and then the MHSAA went to Division 1-8 in 1999 and Belding hasn't returned back to the finals since. Belding won the Class B title in 1994 and 1997. Belding was also the runner-ups in 1996 and 1998.

Region 3:

Edwardsburg has appeared in 3 semi-finals, but has yet to crack into the state finals.

Lansing Sexton has 3 mythical titles from; 1946, 1961, and 1963. The Big Reds recently appeared in the Division 4 game in 2014 where they lost to South Christian.

Region 4:

River Rouge won a mythical title in 1949 and were the runner-ups for the Division 5 title in 2015.

Cranbrook recently won the first District Championship in school history but is 1 of 2 schools in the state to have a Heisman Trophy winner.