For Division 3 The D Zone takes a look at the State Finals history for the remaining teams

Written by
Jeff Corrion
Photo Credit
Jeff Corrion

Region 1:

Muskegon leads the state in State Championships and is heavily favored to win one again in 2017. In total the Big Reds have 17 total state titles with 5 being won in the playoffs (1986, 1989, 2004, 2006, and 2008) and 12 "mythical" state championships that were voted on by various media companies in; 1920, 1921, 1923, 1926-1928, 1936-1937, 1942, 1944, 1951, 1971, and 1974.

DeWitt has appeared in 5 state finals, but all 5 have been losses; 2013, 2004, 2003, 2003, and 1989.

Region 2:

East Lansing has 1 state championship won in the playoffs, in 1991's Class A win over Brother Rice as well as a "mythical title" in 1964. East Lansing finished as runner-ups in 1990 and 1983.

Harper Creek has appeared in 4 semi-finals, but has no state finals appearances.

Region 3:

Divine Child won 2 state championships and 1 mythical title. DC won the inaugural Class B title in 1975 over Saginaw MacArthur and again in 1985. The Falcons mythical title came during the 1973 season.

Riverview has two state final appearances where they lost in 1997 (Class B) and 2002 (Division 4). They won 2 mythical state titles in 1960 and 1968.

Region 4:

We are living history as John Herrington, Farmington Hills Harrison only head coach surpassed 431 wins to become the winningest coach in the history of the state this year. Harrison will look for their 14th title this year as they have 13 state titles in the playoff era and no mythical state titles. Harrison has won their titles in; 1981, 1982, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1997-2001, and 2010. Harrison has 4 runner-up appearances.

Linden has had great consistency the past 20 years, but is looking to appear in their first semi-final game.